About Preble County

Welcome to OSU Extension in Preble County!


Preble County is situated in the southwest portion of Ohio. The county seat is located in the city of Eaton. Preble County had its early beginnings in 1798 when a handful of settlers moved into the area. Preble was later established as a county in March 1808.

In addition to Eaton, there are several villages located in the county: Camden, College Corner, Eldorado, Gratis, Lewisburg, New Paris, Verona, West Alexandria, West Elkton, and West Manchester. There are a dozen townships: Dixon, Gasper, Gratis, Harrison, Israel, Jackson, Jefferson, Lanier, Monroe, Somers, Twin and Washington. There are several major roadways including I-70, US 127, US 35, US 40. The county has 18 public schools in the county's five school districts, which provide primary and secondary education to nearly 8,000 school-aged children.

Nearly three quarters of Preble County is farmland. The county consistantly ranks in the top 10 in hog and corn production for the state of Ohio. Most of the county's communities remain small, with a genuine feel of hometown America.


About OSU Extension

Since 1914, Extension has been helping all Ohioans build better lives, better businesses and better communities.

Ohio State University Extension brings the knowledge of the university directly to you. We fulfill the land-grant mission of The Ohio State University by interpreting knowledge and research developed by Extension and other faculty and staff at the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center, Ohio State main campus, and other land-grant universities – so Ohioans can use the scientifically-based information to better their lives, businesses and communities.

The Extension system is the world’s largest non-formal educational system. Extension programs address the needs of the local community while also addressing state, national, and global issues. Our practical educational programs combine the needs of local citizens and communities with new research and technical information.

No matter which county you visit, you can find people who are helped by the four major OSU Extension program areas: family and consumer sciences, 4-H youth development, community development, and agriculture and natural resources. These program areas – and many other special topics – are continuously evaluated and updated to meet the changing needs and issues facing each community. Extension provides practical advice, sensible solutions, and realistic down-to-earth answers for ALL Ohioans.

OSU Extension…

Our vision: Ohioans have the knowledge and resources they need to actively engage in creating conditions in which they thrive.

Our mission: We create opportunities for people to explore how science-based knowledge can improve social, economic, and environmental conditions.